Demystifying the “d” word

I’m going to my very first Death Cafe soon and I can’t wait. Before you assume I am some sort of macabre person (although I do love Halloween like a religion) hear me out.

American society has taken the topic of death and buried it deep in the back of the closet under a pile of old coats and shoes. Other societies not so squeamish, understand that death is a natural part of the circle of life. Some societies actually celebrate it, knowing their loved ones have passed on to a better existence.

Death Cafe
Death Cafes started in London and are non-profit events held sporadically at various locations.

I stumbled across Death Cafes in one of my rabid late night Google searches.  They are held all over the world – 33 countries – and are an opportunity for people to talk about death, drink tea and eat cake (that’s the real hook). It’s not a therapy session for grieving people, or affiliated with any religious view. There is no set agenda.  According to the website the goal is “to increase awareness of death with a view to helping people make the most of their (finite) lives’.”

So really it is about living. I was intrigued and so found an event coming up next month near where I live, and plan to check it out. I imagine it to be a bit like a book club, only without all the pressure of having to finish the damned book, but sadly no wine-fueled rants either.  Look for future posts on  my experience.

 

3 thoughts on “Demystifying the “d” word

Leave a comment